The National Coalition for Core Arts Standards (NCCAS) has released draft documents of the Core Arts Standards that have been developed by a committee of music professionals from across the country. These drafts are being offered for review and comment by the public through Saturday, March 1, 2014 at 12:01AM, PST.

AOSA recognizes that there are many items in these standards about which our membership might have opinions and ideas. We strongly encourage you to make your voice known by reviewing and completing the survey for the standards found at this link:

There are several documents to review prior to completing the survey. Those documents can be found at this link

The documents include (with links below):
Download Important Introduction and Contextual Information
Download Music Standards – Pre K -12 Scope and Sequence View (Excel)
Download PDF Version Music Pre K – 8 General Music Standards
Download PDF Version Music High School Strands
Download Creating Model Cornerstone Assessment – Grade 8
Download Performing Model Cornerstone Assessment – High School Music Skills

For more information on the Core Arts Standards, visit