Press Room

Back-to-School PowerPoint presentation about Orff Schulwerk

The AOSA PowerPoint presentation about Orff Schulwerk will help inform your school community about what students learn in your classroom. Consider showing it at: Back to School Night Curriculum Night PTA Meetings Parent Teacher Conferences Open House Events “Pre-show” at music concerts and programs School Board Meetings Link to school music webpage

Senate Passes Every Child Achieves Act, with Music and Arts as Core Subjects

NAfME announces “that the United States Senate has passed its bipartisan Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) reauthorization proposal, the Every Child Achieves Act (S. 1177), by a final vote count of 81 to 17. The Senate’s action today is an important step forward in ensuring that all students—regardless of their socioeconomic status—experience the demonstrable… Read more »

Recognition of Music as a Core Subject

“On the eve of the 108th birthday of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME), the best possible present was handed to us: recognition of music as a core subject in draft federal education policy.” Learn more on the NAfME website.

Carl Orff Foundation Professorship

The following position is available at the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich starting on October 1, 2015: W 2 Professor of Elementary Music Education (EMP) “Carl Orff Foundation Professorship” We are looking for a distinguished figure with a high level of artistic and pedagogical expertise and relevant teaching experience. Areas of responsibility include… Read more »

AOSA National Board of Trustees Election Results Announced

AOSA is pleased to announce the results of the 2015 AOSA National Board of Trustees elections. Congratulations to Tiffany English, incoming Vice President and Amy Fenton, returning Treasurer. Upon completion of her two year term as Vice President, English will serve for two years as AOSA President. Fenton was re-elected for a second two year… Read more »

William C. Lahman, husband of DSA recipient B.J. Lahman, passed away.

William C. Lahman, 92, of Cleveland Heights, OH passed away quietly in his sleep Friday, February 6, 2015 following a yearlong convalescence. William was born May 25, 1922 south of Brokensword, OH. He was married Dec. 22, 1950 to Betty Jane (Schwartz) Lahman, AOSA Distiguished Service Award Recipient, who survives. In addition, William is survived… Read more »