AOSA Appoints first Vice President of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Welcomes incoming National Board of Trustees Members; Announces Ad-Hoc Committee for Board Restructuring

The American Orff-Schulwerk Association is pleased to announce the appointment of Kristen Faust as AOSA’s first Vice-President of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (VP-DEI). Kristen is a member of the Greater Atlanta Chapter of the American-Orff Schulwerk Association. As a current member of the AOSA Diversity and Inclusion Subcommittee, Kristen moves into this board-level position established to elevate the importance of identifying and supporting diversity, equity, and inclusion in all aspects of AOSA’s programs, activities, and events.

This appointment is the first step in the on-going work of AOSA to shift the culture of our organization to that of belonging for all members. Using the lens of diversity, equity, and inclusion, the VP-DEI will oversee the work of AOSA as a national trustee serving as an Executive Committee member as well as chair of the Member Relations Committee. Kristen will liaison with the Leadership Development and Nominations Committee and Curriculum and Instruction Committee and serve on the AOSA Finance Committee. Currently an appointed position, the VP-DEI will shift to an elected position within the next two years.

Kristen will be joining the newly elected regional representatives and recording secretary beginning their service in July. Newly inaugurated National Board of Trustee members include:

Kelly Whisinnand – Region I Representative

Rachel Bergeron – Region II Representative

Christopher Giles – Region III Representative

Deb Navin – Region VI Representative

Kathy. Hummel – Recording Secretary

In addition to these new board members, a Board Restructuring Ad-Hoc Committee is being established to support the transformation of board representation. The purpose of the committee is to develop a redefined leadership structure for the National Board of Trustees of the American Orff-Schulwerk Association through collaborative work with identified constituent groups. This committee’s establishment is predicated on the actions of the AOSA National Board of Trustees in its work to create a board that is representative of the diversity of AOSA membership and the students of the United States. The work of the ad-hoc committee will include:

  • Confirm components of the current board structure required to maintain legal requirements for board membership
  • Establish updated board position qualifications, roles, and representations taking into account the importance of representing AOSA membership as inclusively as possible
  • Develop an updated election/appointment process to better engage AOSA membership in organizational work ensuring continuity of governance and more inclusive representation.

The appointees of the AOSA Restructuring Ad-Hoc Committee are: Tiffany Barry, Manju Durairaj, Adrianna Eason, Kristen Faust, Mandy Gunter, Beth Nelson, Tom Pierre, Josh Southard, Judy Thompson-Barthwell, and Ben Torres. These members include representatives from the AOSA National Board of Trustees – past and present, AOSA Diversity and Inclusion Subcommittee – past and present, and AOSA members from various member groups and programs and activities of AOSA including the AOSA Teacher Education Program, scholarships and grants recipients, higher education, new professionals, and retirees.